Don’t Hold on to Old Raisins

The HeSo Project

 “What happens to a dream deferred?”

Langston Hughes‘ iconic words have stuck with me since I first read this poem in high school. I thought about his question the other day, when an acquaintance of mine was telling me she decided to give up on her dreams. Normally my first reaction would be to say, “noooo,” but instead I just listened.

“I feel guilty giving up because this has been my dream since I was a little girl,” she said to me. “But I have so many other things I want to pursue now.”

I thought for a moment, and then asked, “When was the last time you were excited about this dream?”

She laughed. “Probably back when I was a little girl.”

In that moment I realized that we do not betray our dreams by pursuing something different, we betray our dreams when we ignore ourselves and forget to ask, “Hey, I’ve…

View original post 276 more words

About idasolis

A retired corporate personnel, a natural health practitioner.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

